Jeff Davis County Health DepartmentJeff Davis County was created in 1905 form parts of Appling and Coffee counties. Georgia's 140th county was named for Jefferson Davis, President of the Confederacy. Davis had served as the U.S. Secretary of War prior to the Civil War.

The county has two municipalities: Hazlehurst, the largest and the county seat, and Denton. Hazlehurst was named for Colonel George Hazlehurst, a civil engineer who surveyed the Macon & Brunswick Railroad. In August of 1995, Hazlehurst celebrated its "Censilver," 150 years of existence.

For health information on the county, visit

Jeff Davis Hospital is the local hospital.

Jeff Davis County Health Dept.
Nurse Manager - Cara Taylor, BSN
Environmental Health - Oscar Hulett

30 E. Sycamore St.
P O Box 603
Hazlehurst, GA 31539-6162
FAX: 375-3845
Hours of operation:
7:30am-5:30pm, Monday-Thursday
8am-5pm, Friday

Click on dark blue shaded
area for image of detailed map.

Check out these links...


Southeast Health District
1101 Church Street
Waycross, GA 31501
P: 912-285-6002
F: 912-284-2980


Website design, hosting and maintenance by InterWeb Designs, Inc.
Copyright 2007-2012 by InterWeb Designs, Inc. All rights reserved.
This website may not be copied or reproduced in any form, in whole or in part,
by anyone without the express written permission of InterWeb Designs, Inc.