Coffee County was created in 1854 from parts of Clinch, Irwin, Telfair, and Ware counties. Georgia's 107th county was named for General John Coffee, who fought in the region's Indian wars and was a hero of the War of 1812.

The county has four incorporated municipalities: Ambrose, Broxton, Nicholls, and Douglas, which is the largest and the county seat.

For health information on the county, visit

Coffee Regional Medical Center is the local hospital.


Coffee County Health Dept.
Nurse Manager - Casey Stewart, RN, BSN
Environmental Health -
Lee Meeks
1111 W. Baker Highway
Douglas, GA 31533-2107
Admin. 855-473-4374
Env. Hlth. 912-389-4458
FAX: 389-4326
Hours of operation:
 7:30am-5:30pm, Monday-Thursday   8:00am-5:00pm, Friday

Click on dark blue shaded
area for image of detailed map.

Check out these links...


Southeast Health District
1101 Church Street
Waycross, GA 31501
P: 912-285-6002
F: 912-284-2980


Website design, hosting and maintenance by InterWeb Designs, Inc.
Copyright 2007-2012 by InterWeb Designs, Inc. All rights reserved.
This website may not be copied or reproduced in any form, in whole or in part,
by anyone without the express written permission of InterWeb Designs, Inc.