Chartlon County Health DepartmentCharlton County was created in 1854 from a portion of Camden County. Georgia's 110th county was named for Robert M. Charlton of Savannah, a U.S. senator and one of Georgia's foremost jurists.
The county has three municipalities, Folkston, Homeland and St. George. Folkston is the county seat and was named for a prominent family in the area.

Charlton County contains a large part of the Stephen C. Foster State Park and the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge and Wilderness Area, which attracts 350,000 visitors annually. The Okefenokee (Seminole for "Land of Quaking Earth") Swamp is roughly 20 by 40 miles in size and takes up one-third of the county's land. The impenetrable wilderness served as a sanctuary for the Seminoles and escaped slaves.

For health information on the county, visit

Charlton Memorial Hospital is the local hospital.

Charlton County Health Dept.
Nurse Manager - Jeanna Thrift, RN
Environmental Health - Jacob Oakley

2587 Third Street
PO Box 605
Folkston, GA 31537-1303
FAX: 496-2623
Hours of operation:
8am-5pm, Monday-Friday

Click on dark blue shaded
area for image of detailed map.

Check out these links...


Southeast Health District
1101 Church Street
Waycross, GA 31501
P: 912-285-6002
F: 912-284-2980


Website design, hosting and maintenance by InterWeb Designs, Inc.
Copyright 2007-2012 by InterWeb Designs, Inc. All rights reserved.
This website may not be copied or reproduced in any form, in whole or in part,
by anyone without the express written permission of InterWeb Designs, Inc.