Bacon County Health Department

Bacon County was created in 1914 from parts of Appling, Pierce, and Ware counties. Georgia's 149th county was named for Senator Augustus O. Bacon, a four-term U.S. Senator who died in office.

Alma is the only incorporated municipality in Bacon County. Alma's name is an acronym composed from the first letters in the names of Georgia's four state capitals: Augusta, Louisville, Milledgeville, and Atlanta.

The Blueberry Festival is held annually during the summer, celebrating Bacon County's large blueberry industry.

For health information on the county, visit

Bacon County Hospital is the local hospital.

Bacon County Health Dept.
Nurse Manager - Melondia Music, RN
Environmental Health - Oscar Hulett

101 N. Wayne Street
PO Box 116
Alma, GA 31510-2540
FAX: 632-7834
Hours of operation:
7:30am-5:30pm, Monday-Thursday
8am-5pm, Friday

Click on dark blue shaded
area for image of detailed map.

Check out these links...


Southeast Health District
1101 Church Street
Waycross, GA 31501
P: 912-285-6002
F: 912-284-2980


Website design, hosting and maintenance by InterWeb Designs, Inc.
Copyright 2007-2012 by InterWeb Designs, Inc. All rights reserved.
This website may not be copied or reproduced in any form, in whole or in part,
by anyone without the express written permission of InterWeb Designs, Inc.